Hej, Sverige!

Episode 1: Hej, Sverige!

Hej!

First of all, let’s me say “hello” in Swedish. The word “Sverige” means “Sweden” in English as you may know.

I have brainstormed with myself for a time whether I should publish the episodes of Sweden and Europe. It would be very long story and need time to complete the whole series. Because, at first, I was thinking of selecting some part of the story, for example, Prague episode or Norway episode.

But, after I have made the decision, I think it is great opportunity to dig out my wonderful memory when I have been there before some of details fade out. Plus, the plenty of photos I have taken would be set part on my online dairy since I almost left them in the deepest part of my external hard drive. (I almost left my web blog abandoned actually.) The most important thing is that, I really miss there, if I do something with this, I will feel like I start my wonderful journey again.

Why Sweden?

Most of Thai people, when thinking of Europe, it would be the UK, France, Germany or something like that, I supposed. Not so much people put Sweden as a first priority of bucket list. We know Sweden, of course, but may not as well as Western Europe. However, I would say, at the moment, it is trendy to go somewhere different from the mainstream. Sweden may not “somewhere different” compared with Balkans region, for instance, Albania or Bosnia and Herzegovina, but some part of Sweden might be. But that is not the point for me that I have been to Sweden anymore. I feel very close to Sweden since I was child because I always hear the exciting stories (in my point of view) from my relatives who live there many times. Visiting Sweden is a must for me.

Where the story had begun?

My aunt sent me the direct ticket from Bangkok to Copenhagen to stay with her and my Swedish uncle in “Malmö” for a gift as I could admit to the University. Then, I packed my bags and went there without any hesitation. “This would be amazing journey!” I said to myself. My aunt would pick me up at Kastrup Airport – Copenhagen and take me to her home.

Malmö is located in the southernmost region of Sweden named “Scania” or “Skåne” in Swedish word. In order to get to Malmö from Kastrup Airport, we needed to get across Öresund channel which separates Copenhagen and Malmö apart. That is why I had to land in Copenhagen not Stockholm.

20130321-DSC00176
Fig.1 Kastrup Airport (Københavns lufthavn) – Copenhagen, Denmark

You can get across the channel using Öresund bridge either by car or train. We bought the train ticket at the ticket machine and went to the platform. Öresundståg is the name of the train that service across transnational Öresund region of Denmark and Sweden. People from Malmö can across the bridge to travel or work at Copenhagen and vice versa.

Öresund channel
Fig.2 Öresund channel (from Google Maps)

At that time, it was 21st of March 2013, the winter was still there, you can see the ice cover the sea as soon as the train went across the bridge. It was very cold out there, no surprise. Snow was falling lightly in the morning. This was the picture that I expected to see in Scandinavian countries.

We got off the train at Triangeln station which is located in the city centre of Malmö. I could officially say “Hej!” to Sweden, at that moment.

20130321-DSC00194
Fig.3 Triangeln station

But, it was still long way to go. My aunt and my uncle live in the outskirt of Malmö. So that, we had to walk a little bit to the bus stop and wait for the bus to “Oxie”.

20130321-DSC00196
Fig.4 On the way from Triangeln station to bus stop

It took time for a while from “Malmö” to “Oxie”, passing through many villages, at the same time, my learning had begun as I am an architectural lover. I love to know how each region build houses and decorate their houses in traditional style.

I would better jump to Fajansvägen, Oxie where I had stayed with my aunt. Snow was still falling and said welcome to me. I walked through the lane with my huge luggage to my aunt home. The pathway was slippery with ice. And, finally, we had arrived.

I took a rest for a while, Skype with my family to let them know that I had been there safely. We planned to go to Malmö old town which awaited me to explore! Even if, I would stay there for about two months, I could not hold my desire anymore.

As we arrived Malmö city centre, we walked past “Södergatan” which is the shopping street to “Stortorget”.

“Stortorget” is a word in Swedish for public square where you can find in many Swedish cities. The iconic building “Rådhus – Malmö town hall” was built in Gothic style and then renewed in Dutch renaissance.

20130321-DSC00231
Fig.5 Rådhus – Malmö town hall

Not far from Stortorget, there is also the lovely public square called “Lilla torg”. I could say this is one of my favourite squares as timber frame houses which take you back to the past are located here, plus, there are many restaurants around the square. If you want to sit outside, you would better come back again in springtime.

However, that time was late winter, so, it was completely different feeling compared to summertime. Surrounding was calm and peaceful.

20130321-DSC00249
Fig.6 Half-timbered house – the former farmhouse
20130321-DSC00253
Fig.7 Lilla torg in late winter
20130321-DSC00260
Fig.8 Half-timbered house – the former farmhouse
20130321-DSC00266
Fig.9 Timber frame houses around Lilla torg

If you have a look in the map, you will notice that the old town part of Malmö is surrounded by the canal. This is one of the spot to have a seat and take a rest by the canal, of course, if this is summertime.

20130321-DSC00278
Fig.10 By the canal – Davidshallsbron

After I knew a little bit more about the city, at least, to know some of the main spots and landmarks in Malmö old town, it was time to get back home “Oxie” and take some rest. The first question that my uncle asked me after said “Hallå!” was “Are you freezing?”. And I could not agree more. However, I prefer cold to hot weather, by the way.

The next morning, I woke up early, as always when I travel to somewhere. Morning time is a great time to see the sky changes its colour, see what the locals do in the morning, hear the sound of nature and breath the fresh air. But I do not think my neighbours would do like this in the late winter morning!

There is nothing special in this village in traveller point of view but I think it is worth for me to live like the locals, keep in touch with people in the village, see what they do, what they plant in the garden and so on…in order to know more about Swedes.

20130322-DSC00293
Fig.11 Fajansvägen, Oxie in the morning

As you can see in the picture below, I am not sure that I could use the word “townhouse” because this is a little bit tricky for me. If you have a look into details, each block of townhouses has two doors. One for upstair and the other one for downstair. Yes, there are two living quarters for each block. If you live upstair, your neighbour will live downstair. And it is wide enough for 2 people with 1 kid. There are 1 living room, 1 dining room with kitchen, 1 bedroom, 1 bathroom and 1 working room.

20130322-DSC00296

Fig.12 Red brick townhouses – Fajansvägen, Oxie

20130322-DSC00305
Fig.13 Cozy walkway – Fajansvägen, Oxie
20130322-DSC00311
Fig.14 Christmas tree-like covered with the snow – Fajansvägen, Oxie
20130322-DSC00315
Fig.15 Children in kindergarten sliding down the little manmade snow hill – Fajansvägen, Oxie

On the same day, we planned to go to “Oslo, Norway” by cruise which my aunt had arranged before to get the new experience of transportation and explore the capital of Norway. The cruise would depart from Copenhagen so we had to get there first.

Oxie has its train station also, this is another option other than bus to get to Malmö city centre, we had to walk for a distance from home in order to get there. Then, we took the train from Oxie to Triangeln station so as to interchange to Öresundståg to Copenhagen.

20130322-DSC00320
Fig.16 Oxie train station
20130417-DSC05339
Fig.17 Öresundståg – Triangeln station

To be continued…
Episode 2: Oslo, Norway

Leave a comment